Understanding the EYFS

Early Years foundation stage Curriculum

Although I offer a home from home setting; Childminder’s are still governed by ofsted and must follow the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage).

The EYFS are areas for standard learning, development and care from birth to 5 years of age.

Every child develops and learn at different rates, this is an area I understand so I plan activities to the specific age, stage and interest of the child.

Children are observed and activities are provided to promote their learning based on the 7 areas to cover:

Prime Areas

* Personal, Social & Emotional Development 

* Communication & Language Development 

* Physical Development 

Specific Ares

* Literacy

* Mathematics

* Understanding the World

* Expressive Arts and Design

Once the child is secure within the prime areas of learning they will then be ready for the specific areas. But they are all crucial for your child’s development and all this is achieved through play and exploring both indoors and outdoor.

key worker

Each child is allocated a Key Person. The Key Worker for your child at my setting would be me. My role is to help ensure your child’s care is tailored to meet their individual needs. I believe in providing a happy relationship in the setting as this is essential in setting a good ground for your child’s well being now and their future.


I also believe that parents and carers are a child’s first educator as they know them best, so therefore I work closely to ensure they are very much involed in what their child is learning. 

On Babys Days App it allows parents to read and make comments on their child’s progress and also have the option to upload photos from home and what their does as sometimes children can do something at home they wont do at another setting and vice versa.